Dodgeball tourney raises $1,000; Money raised given to Casey Sparling Scholarship

The Wabash Plain Dealer Online Ten teams took the hardwood at Northfield High School Saturday for the first dodgeball tournament, presented by Wasted Talent, the dodgeball team that participated in the World Championships in Las Vegas last fall.

All proceeds from the event, right at $1,000, were donated to the Casey Sparling Memorial Scholarship Fund.

Team Caucasian Invasion cruised through the competition, posting wins over team World Champs and the Sophs.

In the semi-finals of the winner's bracket, The Invasion posted a win over the Jaundice-Stricken Jaguars to advance to the championship game in the double-elimination tournament.

Pre-tourney favorite, the Coaches, benefactors of a first-round bye, were sent to the loser's bracket by the Miller's.

The Miller's posted a win over Off Constantly in the opener.

The Sophs had an opening round win over Dodge Caravan (with front side airbags) before the loss.

The Divas (the all female team) were handed two straight losses as were the World Champs.

The Miller's and Coaches both battled through the loser's bracket before the Miller's claimed the upset win.

With the Jaguars lying in wait, the Miller's were stalked and eliminated.

The Jaguars then went on to beat the Invasion twice in the championship series.

Several individual awards were handed out on the day.

The Human Bullseye went easily to David Price. Price was the first one out nearly every match the Caravan played in.

Ty Mills took home the Laser-Rocket Arm award while Andrew Glasscock was the Artful Dodger winner.

Glasscock was crafty all day, and even eliminated Coach Tony Uggen in a one-on-one showdown to place the Miller's in the semi-finals of the loser's bracket.

Levi Allen took home the Best Hands certificate, coming up with numerous putouts via the catch.

The Dodge Caravans (with frontside airbags) won the Clark Fork Wampus Cats best team name award.

The Jaguars went on to beat a depleated Wasted Talent team.

After that was the free-for-all last-man standing contest.

Nate Dunn was the victor, outlasting the field.

Finally, Jared Tackett took home the Casey Sparling Memorial Dodgeball Tournament Sportsmanship Award for his etiquette on the day.

The works are in progress for a fall tournament next year.